Most Recent Announcements

Tuesday, 30 August 2016 11:30
thumb nrao16cb14aALMA and VLA join host of other telescopes to study galaxy cluster.

Tuesday, 23 August 2016 09:00
thumb nrao16cb13aALMA Cycle 4 Proposals Show Increased Demand

Monday, 15 August 2016 10:20
thumb nrao16cb12aALMA sees transition from atomic to molecular gas in Orion.

thumb MagdelenaTeacherTwo students and a teacher from Magdalena, New Mexico, have arrived in the Chilean town of San Pedro de Atacama as part of a Sister Cities program sponsored by the National Radio Astronomy Observatory (NRAO) and Associated Universities, Inc. (AUI).
Tuesday, 19 July 2016 09:00
Published in 2016

ALMA Explores the Magnetic Universe

thumb NRAO16cb06ALMA verifies its outstanding polarimetric capabilities. 
Thursday, 23 June 2016 09:24
Published in 2016

ALMA Board Approves Band 1 Receivers

thumb nrao16cb01aALMA Band 1 receiver approved by ALMA Board.
thumb ALMAsoundsALMA Sounds to be featured at Sonar+D Festival.
Wednesday, 15 June 2016 06:00
Published in 2016

First Detection of Methyl Alcohol in a Planet-forming Disk

thumb THWALMA detects methanol in TW Hya.
Thursday, 09 June 2016 10:05
Published in 2016

NRAO's New iOS App Puts the Radio Universe in Your Hand

thumb AppSkymapNRAO launches its first mobile app, RadioSky, for free download in the Apple iTunes Store.
Wednesday, 25 May 2016 08:25
Published in 2016

Footprints of Baby Planets in a Gas Disk

thumb hltau YenAstronomers use ALMA to find new evidence of infant planets.
Tuesday, 29 March 2016 20:23
Published in 2016

Attacker Damages Radio Telescope Site on Mauna Kea

thumb VLBAincidentOfficial statement on the attack of the Mauna Kea VLBA station.
thumb ERAEssential Radio Astronomy for the first time published by Princeton University Press.
thumb SabrinaStierwaltNRAO/UVA astronomer Sabrina Stierwalt honored by L'Oreal and UNESCO.
Thursday, 03 March 2016 09:11
Published in 2016

ALMA Spots Baby Star's Growing Blanket

thumb ASOPRALMA distinguishes between protostar disk and infalling gas.
Friday, 18 December 2015 07:00
Published in 2015

ALMA Trilateral Agreement Signing Ceremony

thumb FCrimNSFThe ALMA partners signed an agreement for operation of ALMA for next 20 years.
Friday, 04 December 2015 11:00
Published in 2015

ALMA Spots Monstrous Baby Galaxies Cradled in Dark Matter

thumb MonstrousGalaxies02ALMA discovers monstrous galaxies in dark matter cradle.
Friday, 20 November 2015 16:30
thumb NRAOHQExteriorAssociated Universities Inc. Has Been Selected as the Management Organization for the National Radio Astronomy Observatory: Largest NSF Cooperative Agreement Ever for Astronomical Research.
Tuesday, 10 November 2015 09:10
Published in 2015

ALMA Links with Other Observatories

thumb ALMA VLBI GlobeALMA expands capabilities in series of VLBI observations. 
Monday, 26 October 2015 14:21
Published in 2015

Listen to the Music of a Dying Star

thumb CDimage The ALMA Music Box, currently on display in Japan, now available on iTunes.
Monday, 05 October 2015 13:30
Published in 2015

ALMA Exhibit Opens in Santiago

thumb ALMAExhibit2ALMA: Exploring Cosmic Origins exhibit opens in Santiago