Engineers Descend upon DC for International Microwave Symposium, NRAO Will Exhibit, Scientist to Receive Pioneer Award

Credit: IEEE/IMS

In Washington, D.C. June 17-21, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Microwave Theory and Technology Society (MTT-S) will hold its International Microwave Symposium (IMS). IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity, a value shared by the U.S. National Science Foundation National Radio Astronomy Observatory (NSF NRAO).

NSF NRAO and the Central Development Laboratory (CDL) will showcase the latest developments in radio instrumentation technology at the symposium. You can learn more about these facilities and the latest developments in R&D instrumentation by visiting the NRAO/CDL table in the exhibit hall.

NSF NRAO scientist Marian Pospieszalski will be awarded the 2024 Microwave Pioneer Award. This award recognizes an individual or team for outstanding and pioneering technical contributions that advanced microwave theory and techniques, which must be described in an archival paper published at least 20 years prior to the year of the award. The award cites his 1989 paper on “Modeling of noise parameters of MESFETs and MODFETs and their frequency and temperature dependence” which appeared in the journal, IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques.

Pospieszalski received his Masters and Doctoral of Science degrees in electrical engineering from the Warsaw Institute of Technology (Poland). Over his impressive career he has held positions with the Institute of Electronics Fundamentals at the Warsaw University of Technology, the Electronics Research Laboratory at the University of California at Berkeley, NSF NRAO, and the University of Virginia. He has been at the CDL since 1984.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

More News Related to People and Events