2018 Jansky Fellowships Awarded


The National Radio Astronomy Observatory (NRAO) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018 Jansky Fellowships.

The Jansky Fellowship Program provides numerous opportunities for early career scientists to acquire a deep knowledge and understanding of the state-of-the-art in radio astronomy and to establish themselves as innovative, independent research scientists. Jansky Fellows are encouraged to develop research collaborations with NRAO scientific staff, scientists at U.S. universities, and their colleagues in the international astronomical community. An annual, multi-day NRAO Postdoctoral Symposium fosters collaboration between Jansky Fellows and the observatory’s scientific staff.

All Jansky Fellows are expected to spend at least 75 percent of their time on self-directed research.  Jansky Fellows are also encouraged to spend 10-25 percent of their fellowship on activities related to the development and delivery of radio astronomy techniques, capabilities, or outreach activities, using those opportunities to develop their own broad skill set.

The 2018 Jansky Fellows are:

  • Nolan Denman, a Ph.D. candidate at the University of Toronto’s Dunlap Institute for Astronomy and Astrophysics working with Keith Vanderlinde. Nolan will bring his expertise in correlator design, GPU processing, high-performance computing, and instrumentation associated with the Canadian Hydrogen Intensity Mapping Experiment (CHIME) to the Central Development Laboratory.
  • Lisa Locke, currently a postdoctoral research engineer in the Millimetre Instrumentation Group at National Research Council – Herzberg Astronomy and Astrophysics Research Centre. Lisa has extensive experience in phased array feed design, most recently working on the Cryogenic Phased Array Feed (CryoPAF) project. Lisa will bring her considerable experience in receiver design and development to the Central Development Laboratory.
  • Ryan Loomis, currently a Ph.D. candidate at Harvard University working with Karin Öberg. Ryan’s thesis work on the physical and chemical processes which govern the star formation process in our Galaxy has been complemented by his extensive work on algorithmic improvements to radio astronomical imaging and information extraction. Ryan will be hosted at NRAO in Charlottesville.
  • Brian Svoboda, currently a Ph.D. candidate at the University of Arizona – Steward Observatory. Brian’s thesis work with Yancy Shirley has expanded our understanding of the earliest phases of the star formation process through physical and chemical studies of its large-scale structure. Brian will continue his extensive use of NRAO facilities to further our understanding of the star formation process as a Jansky Fellow at NRAO Socorro.

Additional information on the Jansky Fellowship program can be found here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email